Wednesday, 18 November 2020

NIT Trichy announces the Distinguished Alumni and

 NIT Trichy announces the Distinguished Alumni and Young Achiever 

Dr. Mini Shaji Thomas, Director, NIT Tiruchirappalli announced the 
Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) and Young Achiever Award (YAA) for 
the year 2020 during the recently held 16th Convocation 2020 of 7th 
November 2020.

The following alumni were awarded the DAA award  2020 under the 
mentioned categories:
A.Excellence in Academic / Research / Innovation / Invention:
Dr Sathiya Keerthi Selvaraj, Principal Staff Scientist, AI, Group, 
LinkedIn Corporation, Sunnyvale, California. USA (1980 B.Tech. 
Dr. N. Anantharaman, Retired Professor (HAG) from NIT Tiruchirappalli 
(1977 B.Tech.  Chemical & 1985 PhD Chemical);
Prof. Sethu Vijayakumar, Program co-Director for AI -The Alan Turing 
Institute, London, UK (1992 B. E Computer Science);
Mr. V. Srinivasan, Chief controller/Dy. Director, Outstanding 
Scientist -  Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Isro, Thiruvananthapuram, 
Kerala (1974 B. Tech Chemical)
B.Excellence in Corporate / Industry
Dr. AnanthaSethuraman, General Manager – Applied Materials Inc., CA, 
USA (1982 B. Tech Metallurgical);
Mr Kadiresan Annamalai, Senior Director of Marketing, Pericom/Diodes 
Inc., CA, USA (1976 B. Tech ECE)
Mr. Rajesh Gopinathan, Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director -   
Tata Consultancy Services, Mumbai (1994 B. Tech EEE)
C.Excellence in Entrepreneurial venture
Mrs. Sapna Behar, Partner & Founder Director - Icarusnova Pvt. Ltd & 
Icarus Design Pvt Ltd, Bangalore (1990 B. Tech EEE)
D.Excellence in Service to the Society
Mr. Rajendra K Aryal, Representative/ Country Director – Food and 
Agriculture Organization  of United Nations (FAO), Afghanistan (1991 
B. Tech Civil)
Mr. Sivasankar Jayagopal, Founder Chairman -Winvinaya Foundation, 
Bangalore (1991 B. Tech Computer Science)
YAA award under Excellence in Academic / Research / Innovation / 
Invention category: Dr. Gautham Ram Chandra Mouli, Assistant 
Professor, Tu Delft, The Netherlands (2011 B. Tech EEE).
The Director, Dr. Mini Shaji Thomas along with the office of Dean 
(ID&AR) congratulated all the awardees and took immense pleasure to 
recognize their contributions, across domains, enriching the industry 
/ academia / the society.
Like every year, the call for applications for DAA-YAA was invited 
both in offline and online mode.  Applications were invited for 5 
different categories, namely, Excellence in Academic / Research / 
Innovation / Invention, Excellence in Corporate / Industry, Excellence 
in Public Administration, Excellence in Entrepreneurial venture and 
Excellence in Service to the Society at large including sports, 
journalism etc.  This is the first time an online portal was also 
created for submission of applications.
A total of 23 DAA applications and 3 YAA applications were received, 
and were screened and scrutinised by a special committee including the 
Director, Dean (ID&AR), Associate Dean (Alumni Relations) and experts 
from Industry, Academia, Senior Institute Faculty and previous DAA 
awardee.  After careful consideration, evaluation and study of the 
contributions of the alumni nominated, the Committee bestowed the 
awards on 11 alumni for their immense contributions.
Photo Details:
1.Excellence in Corporate / Industry by Mr. Rajesh Gopinathan, Chief 
Executive Officer & Managing Director -  Tata Consultancy Services, 
Mumbai (1994 B. Tech EEE)
2.Excellence in Entrepreneurial venture by Mrs. Sapna Behar, Partner & 
Founder Director - Icarusnova Pvt. Ltd & Icarus Design Pvt Ltd, 
Bangalore (1990 B. Tech EEE)
For More information, Contact:
Dr.S.Raman Sankaranarayanan, Dean (ID & AR) Phone: 9486001108
Dr.Nisha Radhakrsihnan, Associate Dean (AR) Phone: 9843260869

No comments:

Post a Comment