Featured post

Indian Basketball Federation President Aadhav Arjuna has said that the 3x3

 *Indian Basketball Federation President Aadhav Arjuna has said that the 3x3 Senior National Championship Men & Woman 2023 will be held ...

Saturday, 8 December 2018

Valedictory function on International Conference

Valedictory function on International Conference (ICACSE 2018) Jointly Organised by TEQIP III and DST SERB

As part of the ‘Golden Jubilee’ celebrations of Chemical Engineering  Department of NIT-T, the event ICACSE’18 had really brought an immense  opportunity for interaction among young scholars and scientific  delegates to utilize the expertise and technical knowledge to bring a  new era for innovations in the field of Chemical engineering, Energy  and Environmental engineering for sustainable ecosystem. The  conference had plenary talks from eminent scientists from India and  abroad including Padma shri Prof. G.D. Yadav, Prof. Srinivasan  
Rajagopalan of IIT-Madras, Prof. Navid mostoufi from University of  Tehran,  Iran, Prof. Agamuthu from (University of Malaya) Malaysia and  Prof. Praveen LINGA from (NUS) Singapore and shared their research  
expertise on the theme of the conference, ‘Sustainable Ecosystem’.

The valedictory function of the DST SERB-TEQIP III sponsored  International Conference on Advances and Challenges for Sustainable  Ecosysem (ICACSE-2018), 6th-8th December, organized by Department of  
Chemical Engineering, NIT-Trichy was held on 8th December 2018. The  overall coordinator Dr.P.Sivashanmugam welcomed the gathering and  presented the report of the conference. Dr. Agamuthu Periathamby,  Professor of Biological Sciences, University of Malaya, Malaysia  graced the valedictory function as the Chief Guest and Dr. Mini Saji  Thomas, director NIT-T presided the function. In the presidential  
address, director of NIT-T urged the research community to focus on  green environment and clean energy production by inventing newer  technologies, which will be cost effective and eco-friendly in nature.  
She reminded the words from inaugural address by Prof Yadav,  “manufacturing through green routes and achieving sustainable goals of  UNESCO”. “Hope that delegates had a great chance to interact and made  
new friendships which would initiate commendable research output”, she  added and requested every department of the institute to conduct such  international gatherings that may bring many international delegates  
for mutual research collaborations.

Dr. P. Agamuthu has pointed out the importance of sustainable measures  to be taken up by industries and academia through cost effective ways.  He also insisted the waste management measures to have safe and clean  environment which assures the healthier future generation. Commenting  about the conference “Properly planned and a dedicated event to  realize a sustainable ecosystem”. He also appreciated the idea of  
felicitating the alumni of individual department, seeded by the  Chemical department of NIT-T.

The conference had around 150 participants from all over the country.  There were 143 oral and 16 poster presentations and the best  presentation award had been awarded to 16 speakers of different  
sessions. Dr.Meera Sheriffa Begum, Head of Chemical Engineering  Department presented the list of Life Time Achievement Awardees while  Dr.N. Anantharaman, senior professor of the Department elaborated on  
the citation. The distinguished alumni of the department Mr.  Chandrasekaran, former director CPCL Chennai and Mr. BV Ramanan of  Liviya Polymer Pvt. Ltd have been bestowed “Lifetime achievement  award” by the director of the institute Prof. Mini Shaji Thomas and  former Head of Chemical engineering, Prof. S.Sundaram have also been  awarded “lifetime achievement” award along with his students.

Prof. Mini Shaji Thomas,Director,NIT-T presented Life Time Achievement  Awards to Alumnus of Chemical Engineering Dept to Mr. Chandrasekaran,  former director CPCL Chennai, Mr. BV Ramanan of Liviya Polymer Pvt.  and Retired Prof.S.Sundaram,Former Head,Dept of Chemical Engineering.

Dr. Arunagiri, Associate professor of the department delivered the  vote of thanks and all the proceedings of the conference has finally  reached a memorable end.

No comments:

Post a Comment